Team

Wir wissen, dass die wirkliche Stärke eines Unternehmens in den Menschen liegt, die es beschäftigt. Bei Charnwood Molecular bringen unsere Wissenschaftler eine Fülle kreativer Erfahrung in das Team ein. Die Mehrheit unseres Forschungspersonals hat promoviert und verfügt über umfassende Berufserfahrung, auch als Forscher bei großen Pharmaunternehmen.

Unsere Strategie ist es, die talentiertesten Chemiker einzustellen und regelmäßig in neuste Technologie und Anlagen zu investieren, um für unsere im Outsourcing geleistete Forschung und Synthese die beste Qualität und das höchste Leistungsniveau zu bieten.

Dr Mike McKenzie

Head of Operations

Mike ist bei der Gründung im Jahr 1998 als Forschungschemiker zu Charnwood Molecular gekommen. 1999 ist er zum Leiter der Abteilung Chemie und 2011 zum Betriebsleiter aufgestiegen.

Mike hat einen PhD in synthetischer organischer Chemie und vor seiner Tätigkeit bei Charnwood Molecular postdoktorale Forschung an der Universität Liverpool in den Bereichen Enzymatik bzw. asymmetrische Ganzzellentransformation sowie der Therapie von Knochenerkrankungen durchgeführt.

Mikes Verständnis unserer Kundenbasis, seine Aufmerksamkeit fürs Details und sein Engagement dabei, den Kunden höchste Servicequalität zu bieten, ist seit der Gründung 1998 entscheidend für die Entwicklung von Charnwood Molecular zur führenden Organisation für Auftragsforschung gewesen.

Dr James Hitchin

Head of Medicinal Chemistry

James trat im December 2016 als Leiter der Medizinischen Chemie bei Charnwood Molecular ein.

James bringt umfangreiche Erfahrungen aus verschiedenen therapeutischen Bereichen in der Wirkstoffforschung, wo er leitende Positionen bei SAFC Pharma, Pfizer Pharmaceuticals und KemFine Oy hatte.

Bevor er zu Charnwood kam, war James Senior Medicinal Chemiker am Cancer Research UK Manchester Institute, wo er an verschiedenen Zielklassen, einschließlich Kinasen und Epigenetische Ziele arbeitete.
James hat zahlreiche Projekte von Hit-Identifizierung bis hin zur Optimierung und darüber hinaus geführt. Er verfügt über Fachkenntnisse der modernen Wirkstoffforschung, wie sein eindrucksvoller Publikationsbericht zeigt.

In seiner neuen Rolle wird James innovative und kostengünstige Lösungen für unsere expandierende Kundenbasis liefern, damit sie ihre Projekte vorantreiben können.

Dr Robin Wilkes

Director of Business Development

Robin ist im Dezember 2014 als Director of Business Development zu Charnwood Molecular gekommen.

In seinen über 18 Jahren in der Branche hat Robin verschiedene Funktionen in den technischen und kaufmännischen Bereichen ausgeübt, wobei das Schwergewicht auf Entdeckung und Entwicklung lag.

Zu Robins technischen Leistungen gehören sein Beitrag zu den IND-Kandidaten bei der Entdeckung von Medikamenten für die Onkologie bei OSI Pharmaceuticals und große Fortschritte bei der Entwicklung von Kandidaten für Medikamente für klinische Versuche auf verschiedenen therapeutischen Gebieten im Rahmen von Auftragsforschungen für Unternehmen wie Evotec und Sygnature Discovery.

Als Erfinder mit 6 Patenten und Autor von bisher 25 Veröffentlichungen ist Robin ein sehr ergebnisorientierter Mitarbeiter. Seine jetzige Funktion ist es, die Unternehmensinteressen von Charnwood Molecular weltweit zu fördern.

Professor Philip Page

Joint CEO

Phil hält eine Mehrheitsbeteiligung an Charnwood Molecular und ist einer ihrer Gründungsdirektoren.

Phil hat einen Abschluss vom Imperial College und unter Professor Steve Ley promoviert. Anschließend war er postdoktoral mit Professor Leo Paquette an der Ohio State University tätig.

Phil ist in akademischen Kreisen eine bekannte Figur und hat verschiedene akademische Ämter an den Universitäten Liverpool (Dozent, Hauptdozent, außerordentlicher Professor), Loughborough (Professor für organische Chemie, Forschungsdekan) und East Anglia innegehabt, wo er zurzeit als Professor für organische Chemie tätig ist. Er ist Autor von über 200 wissenschaftlichen Veröffentlichungen.

Phil hat einen internationalen Ruf und nachgewiesene Forschungserfahrung in den Bereichen Syntheseverfahren, asymmetrische Synthese/Katalyse und Naturproduktchemie.

Professor Steven Allin

Joint CEO

Steve hält eine Mehrheitsbeteiligung an Charnwood Molecular und ist einer ihrer Gründungsdirektoren.

Steve hat einen Abschluss von der Universität Liverpool in Chemie und Pharmazeutik. Promoviert hat er ebenfalls in Liverpool auf dem Gebiet der asymmetrischen Synthese. Seine postdoktorale Erfahrung hat Steve bei Professor Alan R. Katritzky am Centre for Heterocyclic Compounds der University of Florida erworben.

Steve war an der Universität Loughborough von 1997 bis 2008 als Dozent, Hauptdozent und außerordentlicher Professor tätig. Er war von 2008 bis 2012 Professor für organische Chemie an der Universität Keele und ist jetzt Leiter des Bereichs Chemie und Forensik der Nottingham Trent University.

Steve hat Forschungserfahrung in den Bereichen heterocyclische Chemie, Naturproduktsynthese und asymmetrische Synthese.

Team

We recognise that a company’s real strengths lie in the people that it employs. At Charnwood Molecular, our scientists bring a wealth of creative experience to the team – the majority of our research personnel have extensive postdoctoral experience, including as research scientists within major pharmaceutical companies.

Our strategy is to employ the most talented chemists and to regularly invest in the latest technology and equipment in order to provide the highest quality and service for outsourced research and synthesis.

Dr Mike McKenzie

Head of Operations

Mike joined Charnwood Molecular at its inception in 1998 as a Research Chemist, becoming Head of Chemistry in August 1999 and Head of Operations in June 2011.

Mike holds a PhD in synthetic organic chemistry, and prior to joining Charnwood Molecular,he carried out postdoctoral research at Liverpool University in the field of enzymatic/whole cell asymmetric transformations, and in the area of bone disease therapeutics.

Mike’s understanding of our customer base, his attention to detail and his commitment to the highest quality of customer service has been pivotal in the development of Charnwood Molecular as a leading contract research organisation since its inception in 1998.

Dr James Hitchin

Head of Medicinal Chemistry

James joined Charnwood Molecular in December 2016 as Head of Medicinal Chemistry.

James brings extensive experience from across multiple therapeutic areas in drug discovery, having previously held senior positions at SAFC Pharma, Pfizer Pharmaceuticals and KemFine Oy.

Prior to joining Charnwood, James was Senior Medicinal Chemist at the Cancer Research UK Manchester Institute, where he worked on various target classes, including kinases and epigenetic targets. James has led numerous projects from hit identification right through to lead optimization and beyond, and has an in depth knowledge of modern drug discovery, as exemplified by his impressive publication record.

In his new role, James will be delivering innovative and cost-effective solutions to our expanding client base to help them drive their projects forward.

Dr Robin Wilkes

Director of Business Development

Robin joined Charnwood Molecular in December 2014 as Director of Business Development.

With over 18 years’ experience in the sector, Robin has held a variety of roles covering technical and commercial aspects, with both discovery and development emphasis.

Robin’s technical achievements include contributing to IND candidates whilst in oncology drug discovery with OSI Pharmaceuticals, and achieving milestones for advancement of drug candidates to clinical trials across a range of therapeutic areas whilst within contract research environments for companies including Evotec and Sygnature Discovery.

An inventor on 6 patents and author of 25 publications to date, Robin is a results focused individual. His role is to advance Charnwood Molecular’s business interests globally.

Professor Philip Page

Joint CEO

Phil is a majority shareholder of Charnwood Molecular and is a founding Director.

Phil graduated from Imperial College and completed doctoral studies with Professor Steve Ley before undertaking postdoctoral work with Professor Leo Paquette at Ohio State University.

Phil is a well-known figure in the academic arena, and has held academic appointments at the University of Liverpool (Lecturer, Senior Lecturer, Reader), Loughborough University (Professor of Organic Chemistry, Dean of Research) and the University of East Anglia, where he is currently Professor of Organic Chemistry. He is author of over 200 academic publications.

Phil has an international reputation and proven research expertise in synthetic methodology, asymmetric synthesis/catalysis and natural product chemistry.

Professor Steven Allin

Joint CEO

Steve is a majority shareholder of Charnwood Molecular and is a founding Director.

Steve graduated from the University of Liverpool with a degree in Chemistry and Pharmacology, and obtained his Ph.D. from Liverpool in the area of asymmetric synthesis. Steve gained postdoctoral experience with Professor Alan R. Katritzky at the Centre for Heterocyclic Compounds, University of Florida.

Steve was Lecturer, Senior Lecturer and Reader in Organic Chemistry at Loughborough University from 1997 until 2008. He was Professor of Organic Chemistry at Keele University from 2008-2012, Head of the Department of Chemistry and Forensics at Nottingham Trent University from 2012-2015, Head of the NTU Doctoral School and a member of the University Leadership Team from 2015-2017. From February 2017 Steve will combine a part-time role as Professor of Organic Chemistry at NTU with day-to-day leadership and management of Charnwood Molecular.

Steve has a proven research track record in heterocyclic chemistry, natural product synthesis and asymmetric synthesis.